Freedom Connection

Discover Your Love Language

Mission Intimacy Logo


Jul 15


As Mission: Intimacy moves from the topic of intimacy in friendship to intimacy with our family, a valuable topic to explore is how we are not all alike in what makes us feel loved and cared about. We tend to show friends and family how much we care about them by what makes us feel loved rather than how they understand love. However, there is some helpful tools that can move us from this place of miscommunication into a place of clear connection.

Gary Chapman has written books and created assessments where we can discover love language; how we understand and receive love in practical ways. We all are unique and have a different blend of these love language styles. It is helpful for us to understand our own language as well as those who we care about and desire to express our love. This can be in friendships, marriage and other family members.

Gary has some online tools that we have featured in our Mission: Intimacy Toolbox that are free resources to help guide people in the discovery of love language. These tools are helpful to become more self-aware, but also to learn of other’s love language so we can express our love in a way they are receiving it.

These love languages are not hard and fast rules that are to be adhered to, but rather they are a guide and a tool for understanding those we care about in a deeper way. I encourage you to take the online free assessment and talk about this concept with others. It can lead to some great conversations and connecting on a deeper level of relationship.

The 5 Love Languages are:

  • Words of Affirmation
  • Acts of Service
  • Receiving Gifts
  • Quality Time
  • Physical Touch

You can take the online assessment at the 5 Love Languages website. At the very top center it says “Discover Your Love Language – click her to begin”. There are assessments for adults, children, couples and singles. Enjoy your discovery process!

Leave a comment